CHN logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CHN Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify

TL;DR
  • The standard route requires an RN license plus one year of nephrology experience, or an LPN/LVN license plus two years.
  • Candidates must be actively working with ESRD patients and submit two signed references with the application.
  • An approved corresponding nurse-training pathway exists, but it requires BONENT confirmation and supporting documentation.
  • Fees are USD 235 paper or USD 255 CBT in the U.S.; an optional USD 100 expedite fee applies.

Who Certifies the CHN and Why It Matters

The Certified Hemodialysis Nurse (CHN) credential is administered by the Board of Nephrology Examiners Nursing & Technology, known as BONENT. Understanding who sets the rules is the first step in qualifying, because every eligibility decision, authorization, and deadline flows through that organization rather than through your employer, your state board, or a general nursing body.

That matters for a practical reason: the CHN is a specialty credential built around hemodialysis nursing. It is not a general nursing certification, and its requirements reflect that focus. BONENT wants evidence that you are actually working in nephrology care, not simply that you hold a nursing license. If you are still deciding whether the credential fits your career, our overview What Is CHN Certification? covers the basics, and this article drills into the qualification mechanics.

The Eligibility Routes at a Glance

BONENT recognizes more than one way to become eligible. The two experience-based routes are the standard path for most working dialysis nurses, and a separate approved nurse-training pathway exists for candidates who complete a qualifying program. The table below summarizes how they compare.

RouteLicense RequiredNephrology ExperienceOther Requirements
Standard RN routeEligible RN licenseOne yearActive ESRD work; two signed references
Standard LPN/LVN routeLPN/LVN licenseTwo yearsActive ESRD work; two signed references
Approved nurse-training pathwayPer BONENT confirmationPer pathway termsBONENT confirmation plus documentation
Why the LPN/LVN route is longer: The extra year of required experience for LPN/LVN candidates is part of how the standard route balances differing licensure scopes. If you hold an LPN/LVN license, plan your application timeline around two full years of nephrology work rather than one.

The RN Route: License Plus One Year

For registered nurses, the standard requirement is an eligible RN license and one year of nephrology experience. The word "eligible" is doing real work in that sentence. Your license should be in good standing and appropriate for the practice setting in which you are earning your experience. If there is any question about the status of your license, resolve it before you submit anything, because a licensure problem can stall an otherwise complete application.

The experience requirement is not satisfied by general medical-surgical time or by a brief rotation through a dialysis unit. BONENT expects active ESRD work, meaning your day-to-day nursing practice involves patients with end-stage renal disease. In practice, that usually describes nurses in outpatient hemodialysis clinics, hospital-based dialysis units, and similar settings where treatment delivery and patient assessment are core duties.

What counts as nephrology experience

The credential's content outline gives a useful lens here. The largest exam area, Dialysis and Related Issues, covers the clinical substance of hemodialysis care. Your experience should realistically expose you to that world: initiating and monitoring treatments, managing vascular access, recognizing complications, and working with the care team around ESRD patients. If your role touches those responsibilities regularly, you are likely building the right kind of experience. If you are unsure whether a specific role qualifies, confirm with BONENT before counting the time.

The LPN/LVN Route: License Plus Two Years

Licensed practical and vocational nurses can also pursue the CHN, with an LPN/LVN license and two years of nephrology experience. The same active-ESRD-work expectation applies, and so do the two signed references. The route exists because LPN/LVNs are a meaningful part of the dialysis workforce, and the credential is open to them on a longer experience timeline.

If you are an LPN/LVN planning ahead, treat the two-year clock as something to document from your first day in a nephrology role. Keep track of start dates, employers, unit types, and supervisors. Reconstructing that history later is far more stressful than recording it as you go. For a broader look at how this credential connects to employment, see CHN Jobs.

The Approved Nurse-Training Pathway

Beyond the two experience-based routes, BONENT recognizes an approved corresponding nurse-training pathway. This is not a self-certifying option. It requires BONENT confirmation plus documentation, meaning you cannot simply assume a training program qualifies. The program and your completion of it need to be verified through the certifying body.

Key Takeaway

If you are considering the training pathway, contact BONENT before you enroll in or rely on any program. Confirmation is the gating item, and finding out after the fact that a program was not recognized can cost you months. Get confirmation in writing and keep the paperwork with your application materials.

Because the specifics of approved training programs and their documentation requirements are set by BONENT, always check the current published guidance rather than relying on a colleague's memory of how it worked a few years ago. Employer-sponsored training and formal nurse-training programs can look similar on a resume but are treated differently when eligibility is reviewed. For an overview of what preparation typically involves, see CHN Training.

Documenting Experience and Securing References

Every standard-route application requires two signed references. These attest to your ESRD work, so the strongest references come from people who have directly observed your clinical practice: a nurse manager, clinical coordinator, medical director, or an experienced colleague in a supervisory role who can speak to your hemodialysis duties.

Choosing references wisely

  • Pick people with direct knowledge. A reference who can describe your treatment-floor responsibilities carries more weight than a distant administrator.
  • Give them lead time. Signed references depend on other people's schedules. Ask early and confirm they understand what they are attesting to.
  • Make it easy. Provide your dates of employment and a short summary of your dialysis duties so the reference can be accurate.
  • Keep copies. Retain documentation for your own records in case of questions later.

If your experience spans multiple employers, plan how you will cover the full required period. A reference from a prior workplace may be necessary, and tracking down a former supervisor is easier the sooner you start.

Application, Authorization, and Fees

Qualifying on paper is only half the process. BONENT uses an authorization step and publishes deadlines for applications, so timing matters. Authorization and application deadlines apply, which means you should treat the calendar as a real eligibility constraint. Our guide to CHN exam dates, testing windows, and scheduling walks through how to plan around those windows.

ItemU.S. CandidatesInternational Candidates
Paper examination feeUSD 235USD 260
Computer-based (CBT) feeUSD 255USD 255
Optional expedite feeUSD 100

BONENT does not publish separate member and non-member fee tiers, so you do not need to hunt for a membership discount. The optional expedite fee is just that, optional, and it is worth considering only if your timeline is genuinely tight. Keep in mind that the fee figures on BONENT's current webpage take precedence over older handbook materials. The linked general handbook was last revised in January 2021, and its fee information has been superseded. For a fuller picture of what you will spend across the credential's lifecycle, read CHN Certification Cost: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Paper versus computer-based delivery

The CBT option uses a linked network of testing sites, while paper examinations are offered under approved onsite proctoring. The CBT is a proctored, test-center style experience; it is not a verified at-home route, so do not plan on sitting for it from your living room. If you need testing accommodations, they are available, and you should raise that need as part of your application rather than at the last minute.

Open-book assumptions will hurt you: The exam is closed book, and the linked handbook does not allow personal calculators or reference devices. Candidates who rely on in-clinic lookup habits need to retrain themselves to recall key values and calculations from memory.

What You Qualify to Sit: Format and Content

Once your eligibility is confirmed, you will sit a 150-question multiple-choice examination with a three-hour time limit. BONENT does not disclose how many questions are scored versus unscored, so treat every item as if it counts. The passing standard is a scaled score of 70 on a 1-100 scale. That is a scaled score, not a verified 70 percent raw score, and the pass rate is not publicly disclosed. We unpack this in CHN Passing Score: Exactly What You Need to Pass and CHN Pass Rate: What the Data Shows.

The content outline has four official domains that total 100 percent:

Domain 1: Supervision/Management (10%)

Leadership and oversight responsibilities within a dialysis setting. Note that the official PDF uses the name Supervision/Management, while BONENT's website overview calls it Supervision/Administration; they refer to the same area.

Domain 2: Dialysis and Related Issues (74.5%)

The dominant domain by a wide margin. This is where the clinical substance of hemodialysis nursing lives, and it should drive the bulk of your preparation.

  • Treatment delivery, monitoring, and patient assessment
  • Vascular access care and complication recognition
  • Patient-specific considerations in ESRD management

Domain 3: Professional Development (5.5%)

The smallest domain, covering growth and professional responsibilities in the specialty.

Domain 4: Environmental Control (10%)

The dialysis environment itself, including the infrastructure and safety considerations that support safe treatment delivery.

For a deeper walkthrough of each area, see CHN Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 4 Content Areas. One caution: the detailed exam outline is undated, so confirm you are working from the most current version BONENT publishes. The 2026 renewal booklet is a maintenance document, not an update to the exam content version.

Planning Prep Around Your Experience Gaps

No universal mandatory prep-hour total has been verified, so there is no official number of hours you must log. What you can do is let your own experience shape your plan. Because Dialysis and Related Issues is so heavily weighted, nurses whose work leans toward one area, such as home or acute settings, should deliberately shore up the clinical topics their daily practice rarely touches.

Phase 1

Audit your gaps against the outline

  • Compare your daily duties to the Dialysis and Related Issues topics
  • Flag areas you rarely handle at work
Phase 2

Concentrate on the 74.5% domain

  • Spend the largest block of study time on clinical content
  • Practice recalling values and processes from memory, since no references are allowed
Phase 3

Cover the smaller domains efficiently

  • Review Supervision/Management and Environmental Control (10% each)
  • Skim Professional Development (5.5%) last

For a full study framework, our CHN study guide lays out how to pass on the first attempt, and you can pressure-test your readiness with the CHN practice tests. If you want a fast refresher near exam day, the CHN cheat sheet condenses the must-know facts.

After You Qualify: Validity and Renewal

Earning the credential is not a one-time event. The certification is valid for four years, and keeping it active requires planning from the start. Standard renewal calls for 40 contact hours, including at least 30 nephrology hours. Alternatively, you can renew through a qualifying examination or a once-in-a-lifetime waiver route.

There is also an ongoing maintenance charge: USD 65 annually, or USD 240 prepaid for the full four years. Prepaying works out lower than paying annually over four years, so it is worth considering if you plan to stay certified. Because the nephrology-hour requirement is a specific subset of your total contact hours, choose continuing education with that in mind rather than collecting general nursing credits that may not count toward the 30. If you are weighing whether the ongoing commitment pays off, see Is the CHN Certification Worth It? and the CHN salary guide.

Common Eligibility Pitfalls to Avoid

  • Assuming any nursing experience counts. The requirement is nephrology experience with active ESRD work, not general clinical time.
  • Miscounting the LPN/LVN timeline. Two years, not one, applies to the LPN/LVN route.
  • Leaving references to the last minute. Two signed references take coordination, and busy supervisors cannot always turn them around quickly.
  • Relying on outdated handbook fees. The linked handbook dates to January 2021, and the current webpage controls the fee amounts.
  • Overlooking deadlines. Authorization and application deadlines apply, so a complete application submitted late can still cost you a testing window.
  • Assuming a training program qualifies. The nurse-training pathway requires BONENT confirmation and documentation before you can count on it.
  • Planning for an at-home exam. CBT is not a verified at-home option, and the exam is closed book.

Difficulty is a separate question from eligibility, but many candidates ask both at once. If you are sizing up the challenge ahead, How Hard Is the CHN Exam? gives an honest look. And for definitional background on the acronym itself, see What Does CHN Stand For? and CHN Certification.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the basic requirements to take the CHN exam?

The standard route requires an eligible RN license plus one year of nephrology experience, or an LPN/LVN license plus two years. You must be actively working with ESRD patients and submit two signed references. An approved corresponding nurse-training pathway also exists, but it needs BONENT confirmation and documentation.

Can an LPN or LVN earn the Certified Hemodialysis Nurse credential?

Yes. LPN/LVNs qualify through the standard route with a valid license and two years of nephrology experience, along with active ESRD work and two signed references. The experience requirement is one year longer than the RN route.

How much does it cost to apply for the CHN exam?

In the U.S., the fee is USD 235 for the paper exam or USD 255 for the computer-based version. International candidates pay USD 260 for paper or USD 255 for CBT. An optional USD 100 expedite fee is available. No member or non-member pricing tiers are published.

Can I take the CHN exam from home?

No at-home route has been verified. The computer-based exam uses a linked network of testing sites, and paper examinations are administered under approved onsite proctoring. The exam is also closed book, with no personal calculators or reference devices allowed under the linked handbook.

How long is the CHN credential valid, and how do I renew it?

The credential is valid for four years. Standard renewal requires 40 contact hours with at least 30 in nephrology, or a qualifying examination or once-in-a-lifetime waiver route. Maintenance costs USD 65 annually or USD 240 prepaid for four years.

Ready to pass your CHN exam?

Put this into practice with free CHN questions across every exam domain.