- How to Frame ROI for a Hemodialysis Nursing Credential
- What You Actually Pay: Fees and Maintenance
- What the Certification Actually Verifies
- The Exam Behind the Credential
- The Hidden Cost: Meeting Eligibility
- Where the Credential Carries Weight
- The Long Game: Four Years of Renewal
- Planning Your Prep Around the Weighting
- Who Benefits Most and Who Might Wait
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The CHN is issued by BONENT; the exam fee is USD 235 paper or USD 255 CBT in the U.S.
- Dialysis and Related Issues makes up 74.5% of the exam, so clinical depth drives the return.
- Certification stays valid four years; maintenance costs USD 65 annually or USD 240 prepaid.
- Eligibility requires an RN plus one year, or an LPN/LVN plus two years, of nephrology experience.
How to Frame ROI for a Hemodialysis Nursing Credential
Whether the Certified Hemodialysis Nurse credential is worth it depends on what you count as a return. Some nurses measure only salary. Others weigh job security, credibility with charge nurses and clinic administrators, and the confidence that comes from having your clinical knowledge independently verified. A sound analysis looks at all of these and is honest about which ones can be quantified and which cannot.
This article takes a cost-and-benefit approach grounded in what BONENT, the Board of Nephrology Examiners Nursing & Technology, publishes about the certification. Where concrete figures exist, such as fees, exam length, and renewal requirements, we use them. Where they do not, we say so rather than guess. If you want the earnings side in more detail, our CHN salary guide covers compensation separately.
What You Actually Pay: Fees and Maintenance
The direct costs of the CHN are modest compared with many professional credentials, and BONENT's fee structure is simple. There are no published member or non-member tiers, so you are not weighing membership fees against exam discounts.
| Cost Item | U.S. Candidates | International Candidates |
|---|---|---|
| Paper examination | USD 235 | USD 260 |
| Computer-based test (CBT) | USD 255 | USD 255 |
| Optional expedite fee | USD 100 | |
| Maintenance (annual) | USD 65 per year | |
| Maintenance (prepaid four years) | USD 240 | |
The prepaid maintenance option works out to USD 60 per year, a small saving over paying USD 65 annually, and it removes the risk of missing a yearly payment. Over a full four-year certification cycle, a first-time candidate taking the U.S. paper exam and prepaying maintenance would spend USD 475 in BONENT fees before study materials, continuing education, and any travel to a proctored site. For the full line-by-line picture, see our CHN certification cost breakdown.
Costs that sit outside BONENT's fee schedule
- Study materials: Practice tests, review books, or prep courses vary widely in price.
- Continuing education: Renewal requires contact hours, which may be free through your employer or paid out of pocket.
- Time: BONENT has not verified any universal mandatory preparation-hour total, so your time investment depends on your starting knowledge.
- Expedite fee: The optional USD 100 add-on is worth budgeting for only if you face a tight deadline.
What the Certification Actually Verifies
The CHN is a hemodialysis-specific credential. It does not certify general nursing knowledge; it certifies that you understand the clinical, technical, and supervisory realities of delivering dialysis care. That specificity is the source of its value and also its limit. It is highly relevant if your career is in dialysis, and largely irrelevant if you plan to move into unrelated specialties.
If you are new to the credential itself, our explainers on what CHN certification is and what CHN stands for clarify the terminology, including why other certifications with the same letters are unrelated to this one.
The four content domains
Domain 2: Dialysis and Related Issues (74.5%)
This is where the credential earns its meaning. Nearly three quarters of the exam tests the hands-on and clinical knowledge of dialysis practice.
- Treatment delivery, patient assessment, and recognizing complications during and after dialysis
- The physiology and management concerns tied to end-stage renal disease
- Equipment, vascular access, and treatment-related decision making
Domain 1: Supervision/Management (10%)
This domain covers the leadership side of dialysis nursing. BONENT's PDF names it Supervision/Management, while the website overview uses Supervision/Administration, so expect to see both labels.
- Delegation and oversight of care teams
- Quality and operational responsibilities in a dialysis setting
Domain 4: Environmental Control (10%)
Dialysis units depend on controlled environments, and this domain reflects that reality.
- Infection control and safe practice standards
- Water treatment and the unit environment as they relate to patient safety
Domain 3: Professional Development (5.5%)
The smallest domain, but not one to ignore. It addresses growth, education, and professional responsibilities of the dialysis nurse.
For a deeper treatment of each area, see our complete guide to all four CHN content areas.
The Exam Behind the Credential
ROI depends partly on risk: how likely are you to pass, and what happens if you do not? BONENT has not published a pass rate, so we cannot give you a verified probability, and our CHN pass rate analysis explains what can and cannot be said from available information. What we can describe is the format.
- 150 multiple-choice questions over 3 hours
- Closed book, with no personal calculators or reference devices permitted under the linked handbook
- Scored versus unscored split: not disclosed, so you should treat every question as if it counts
- Passing score: a scaled score of 70 on a 1-100 scale, which is not the same as getting 70% of questions correct
Delivery options and what they mean for your budget
The exam is available as a paper test under approved onsite proctoring or as a computer-based test delivered through a linked SMT/IQT network. The CBT is not a verified at-home option, so plan for a testing location either way. Accommodations are available, and authorization and application deadlines apply, which means a rushed timeline can cost you the expedite fee or a delayed attempt. See our CHN exam dates and scheduling guide for planning details.
Exam difficulty is subjective and depends on your background. Our article on how hard the CHN exam is breaks down what tends to challenge candidates.
The Hidden Cost: Meeting Eligibility
The most significant investment in the CHN is not a fee; it is experience. BONENT's standard route requires:
- An eligible RN license plus one year of nephrology experience, or
- An LPN/LVN license plus two years of nephrology experience
- Active work in end-stage renal disease care
- Two signed references
There is also an approved corresponding nurse-training pathway, which requires BONENT confirmation and documentation. This matters for ROI because the credential is effectively a reward for time already spent in the field. You are not buying a way into dialysis nursing; you are validating experience you have already accumulated. That makes the true "cost" of the certification low for working dialysis nurses and high for anyone hoping to use it as a shortcut. Details are in our CHN requirements guide.
Key Takeaway
Because eligibility requires prior dialysis experience, the CHN works best as a career-validation tool for nurses already in the field, not as an entry ticket. Confirm your experience documentation and references before you pay any exam fee.
Where the Credential Carries Weight
The employers who value the CHN most are those that run dialysis programs: outpatient dialysis clinics, hospital-based dialysis units, and organizations that need staff who can demonstrate competence in a high-acuity, technically demanding specialty. Because 74.5% of the exam focuses on dialysis and related issues, the credential signals practical, treatment-level competence rather than general nursing breadth.
Supervisory and administrative roles also benefit from the Supervision/Management domain, which gives the credential relevance for charge nurses and clinic leaders. If you are mapping out opportunities, our CHN jobs overview discusses the kinds of positions where this certification is relevant.
Weighing the intangible returns
- Credibility: Independent verification of your clinical knowledge from a nephrology-specific board
- Confidence: A structured review of areas you may not touch in daily practice, such as environmental control
- Mobility: A portable credential if you change employers or regions within dialysis nursing
- Leadership readiness: Familiarity with management-level topics that support advancement
None of these carry a verified dollar figure, so we avoid assigning one. The honest position is that the financial return varies by employer, region, and role. Some employers may offer certification pay or reimbursement; others may not. Ask your own HR department what they provide, since that single answer can swing your ROI more than any general statistic.
The Long Game: Four Years of Renewal
A credential's ROI should be measured across its full life, not just the exam day. The CHN is valid for four years, and renewal is where ongoing cost and effort appear.
| Renewal Element | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Validity period | Four years |
| Standard contact hours | 40 total, including at least 30 nephrology hours |
| Alternative route | Qualifying examination or once-in-lifetime waiver route |
| Maintenance fee | USD 65 annually or USD 240 prepaid for four years |
For a working dialysis nurse, the 40 contact hours are often attainable through normal professional development, and the nephrology-heavy requirement (30 of 40 hours) aligns with what you would likely pursue anyway. That alignment improves the credential's ROI, since renewal reinforces rather than interrupts your career growth. Note that the 2026 renewal booklet is not an exam-version update, so it should not be mistaken for a change to the exam content.
Planning Your Prep Around the Weighting
The time you spend preparing is part of your investment, and the domain weights tell you where it pays off. Because the current detailed exam outline is undated and the linked general handbook was revised in January 2021 (with fees superseded by the current BONENT webpage), always confirm current details directly with BONENT before you build a plan.
Dialysis and Related Issues first
- Spend the bulk of your early time here, since it is 74.5% of the exam
- Review treatment delivery, complications, and ESRD fundamentals
- Take a baseline practice set to find weak sub-topics
Environmental Control and Management
- Cover Environmental Control (10%) and Supervision/Management (10%)
- These are areas where bedside nurses often have gaps
Professional Development and full review
- Address Professional Development (5.5%)
- Run timed 150-question practice sessions against the 3-hour limit
For a fuller methodology, see our CHN study guide, and when you are ready to test yourself under realistic conditions, try our CHN practice tests. A one-page refresher is available in the CHN cheat sheet.
Who Benefits Most and Who Might Wait
The credential likely pays off if you:
- Already work in dialysis and meet the one-year (RN) or two-year (LPN/LVN) experience requirement
- Plan to stay in nephrology nursing long term
- Want to move toward charge, supervisory, or clinic leadership roles
- Work for an employer that recognizes, rewards, or reimburses certification
You may want to wait if you:
- Have not yet accumulated the required nephrology experience
- Expect to leave dialysis for an unrelated specialty soon
- Cannot yet secure the two signed references the application requires
- Are relying on an unverified salary promise as your only reason to certify
For most working dialysis nurses, the direct financial outlay is small relative to the career context, the exam format is manageable with focused preparation, and the renewal structure rewards the kind of nephrology learning you would do anyway. The credential does not guarantee a raise, and no verified figure says it will, but it offers a durable, specialty-specific signal of competence. You can compare it with other considerations in our overview of CHN certification, and you can test your readiness any time with the practice exam.
Frequently Asked Questions
The U.S. exam fee is USD 235 for the paper exam or USD 255 for the CBT; international candidates pay USD 260 paper or USD 255 CBT. An optional expedite fee is USD 100. Maintenance is USD 65 annually or USD 240 prepaid for four years.
No verified universal salary increase exists, so any specific percentage claim should be treated cautiously. Pay effects depend on your employer, region, and role. Ask your HR department whether certification pay or reimbursement is available.
The standard route requires an eligible RN license and one year of nephrology experience, or an LPN/LVN license and two years. You also need active ESRD work and two signed references. An approved nurse-training pathway exists but requires BONENT confirmation and documentation.
The certification is valid for four years. Standard renewal requires 40 contact hours, including at least 30 nephrology hours, or a qualifying examination or once-in-lifetime waiver route, plus the maintenance fee.
No. The passing score is a scaled score of 70 on a 1-100 scale, which is not a verified 70% raw score. Because the scored and unscored question split is not disclosed, you should prepare to answer every question as though it counts.