- The Short Answer: What CHN Means Here
- Who Awards the Credential
- What the Letters Signal to Employers
- The Exam at a Glance
- The Four Content Domains
- Who Can Sit for It
- Fees, Formats, and Logistics
- Keeping the Credential Active
- Where CHNs Work and What They Do
- Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
- Frequently Asked Questions
- On this site, CHN means Certified Hemodialysis Nurse, a credential offered through BONENT for dialysis nurses.
- The exam has 150 multiple-choice questions over 3 hours, with a scaled passing score of 70.
- Dialysis and Related Issues carries 74.5% of the exam, dwarfing the other three domains combined.
- Eligibility starts with an RN plus one year of nephrology experience, or an LPN/LVN plus two years.
The Short Answer: What CHN Means Here
CHN stands for Certified Hemodialysis Nurse. It is a professional credential for nurses who deliver hemodialysis care to patients with end-stage renal disease (ESRD). When a nurse adds "CHN" after their name and license, they are telling employers, patients, and colleagues that they have demonstrated verified knowledge of dialysis nursing through a standardized examination, not just on-the-job exposure.
A note on terminology: the same three letters are used by other, unrelated credentials in healthcare and beyond. This article, and everything on CHN Exam Prep, concerns only the hemodialysis nursing certification. If you landed here from a search and want a quick orientation, our companion pages on what CHN stands for and what CHN certification is cover the basics from slightly different angles. If you are ready to test your knowledge directly, the CHN practice test is the fastest way to find your starting point.
Who Awards the Credential
The Certified Hemodialysis Nurse credential is administered by the Board of Nephrology Examiners Nursing & Technology (BONENT). BONENT is the certifying body behind the examination, the eligibility review, the renewal process, and the maintenance fees. That matters for a practical reason: every rule you will read about, from application deadlines to renewal contact hours, comes from BONENT's published materials, and those materials are the authority if anything you read elsewhere conflicts with them.
One caution worth flagging early. BONENT publishes a general handbook that was last revised in January 2021, and the fee figures in that handbook have been superseded by the current fee information on BONENT's website. The detailed exam outline is also undated, and the 2026 renewal booklet is a renewal document, not an indicator that the exam content changed. When you plan your budget and timeline, treat the current webpage as the source of truth and confirm details before you apply.
What the Letters Signal to Employers
Nursing licensure establishes that you can practice nursing. The CHN credential establishes something narrower and more specific: that you understand the technology, physiology, and safety systems unique to hemodialysis. Dialysis is an unusual specialty. Nurses manage extracorporeal circuits, water treatment systems, vascular access, anticoagulation, and fluid removal in patients who are often medically fragile and who may be treated three times per week for years. A credential in this space reassures employers that a nurse can operate within that complexity.
For nurses, the practical value tends to show up in hiring conversations, charge-nurse and leadership pathways, and professional credibility within the dialysis team. If you are weighing whether the investment makes sense, our analyses of whether the CHN certification is worth it and the CHN salary guide walk through the considerations in more depth.
The Exam at a Glance
The examination is a closed-book, multiple-choice test. Here is the format in one view:
| Feature | Detail |
|---|---|
| Certifying body | BONENT |
| Questions | 150 multiple-choice |
| Time allowed | 3 hours |
| Passing standard | Scaled score of 70 on a 1-100 scale |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not disclosed |
| Reference materials | Closed book; no personal calculators or reference devices under the linked handbook |
| Delivery | Computer-based testing through a linked SMT/IQT network, or paper under approved onsite proctoring |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
A scaled score is not a percentage
The most commonly misunderstood detail is the passing score. BONENT reports a scaled score of 70 on a 1-100 scale. That is not the same as answering 70% of questions correctly. Scaled scoring converts your raw performance into a standardized scale, and the relationship between raw and scaled results is not published. Because BONENT also does not disclose how many of the 150 items are scored versus unscored, you cannot reverse-engineer an exact number of questions you must get right. The practical takeaway is to aim for comfortable mastery across the board rather than targeting a bare minimum. Our guide to the CHN passing score unpacks this further, and what the data shows about the pass rate explains why a published pass rate is not available.
What the question style demands
Expect scenario-flavored multiple-choice items that test applied judgment: recognizing a complication during treatment, choosing the correct response to an alarm or abnormal reading, or identifying the safest next step. With no calculators or reference devices allowed, you should be able to work through the routine arithmetic of dialysis nursing, such as fluid removal and rate reasoning, without electronic help. If you are asking how demanding this is in practice, see how hard the CHN exam is.
The Four Content Domains
The official exam outline divides content into four domains that total 100%. The distribution is extremely lopsided, and understanding it should drive how you allocate study time. For a fuller treatment, see our complete guide to all four CHN content areas.
| Domain | Weight |
|---|---|
| Domain 1: Supervision/Management | 10% |
| Domain 2: Dialysis and Related Issues | 74.5% |
| Domain 3: Professional Development | 5.5% |
| Domain 4: Environmental Control | 10% |
Domain 2: Dialysis and Related Issues (74.5%)
This is the heart of the exam. Roughly three of every four questions live here, so it is where your preparation should concentrate. It covers the clinical and technical substance of hemodialysis nursing.
- Patient assessment before, during, and after treatment
- Dialysis procedures, prescriptions, and equipment operation
- Vascular access care and complications
- Recognizing and responding to intradialytic problems
- Medications and anticoagulation related to treatment
- Fluid, electrolyte, and ESRD-related physiology
Domain 1: Supervision/Management (10%)
This domain addresses the leadership and coordination side of dialysis nursing. A small naming wrinkle: the official PDF titles this domain "Supervision/Management," while BONENT's website overview calls it "Supervision/Administration." They refer to the same content area.
- Delegation and oversight within the dialysis team
- Care coordination and staff accountability
- Quality and safety responsibilities in the unit
Domain 4: Environmental Control (10%)
Dialysis units are controlled environments where infection prevention and water quality are safety-critical. This domain tests whether you understand the systems that keep patients safe around the treatment itself.
- Infection control practices in the dialysis setting
- Water treatment and dialysate quality concepts
- Safe handling of equipment and the treatment environment
Domain 3: Professional Development (5.5%)
The smallest domain covers your growth and responsibilities as a professional nurse.
- Continuing education and staying current in the specialty
- Professional responsibilities, ethics, and scope of practice
Key Takeaway
Do not split your time evenly across the four domains. Domain 2 is 74.5% of the exam, so a candidate who knows clinical dialysis cold but skims the other three is in a stronger position than one who spreads effort equally. Still, Domains 1 and 4 together account for 20%, which is too much to ignore.
Who Can Sit for It
BONENT sets experience requirements so that the credential reflects real dialysis exposure, not just textbook familiarity. The standard route is:
- RN pathway: an eligible RN license plus one year of nephrology experience
- LPN/LVN pathway: an eligible LPN/LVN license plus two years of nephrology experience
In both cases you need to be actively working with ESRD patients and submit two signed references. There is also an approved corresponding nurse-training pathway, which requires BONENT confirmation and supporting documentation; if you completed formal dialysis nurse training, contact BONENT to confirm whether it qualifies. We detail the paperwork and edge cases in our CHN requirements guide.
No universal minimum number of preparation hours is mandated by BONENT, so how long you study is up to you. A nurse with several years of daily chair-side practice may need less review than a nurse who just crossed the one-year experience threshold. Our CHN study guide helps you calibrate.
Fees, Formats, and Logistics
BONENT publishes a straightforward fee structure, with no separate member and non-member price tiers:
| Candidate type | Paper exam | Computer-based (CBT) |
|---|---|---|
| U.S. candidates | $235 | $255 |
| International candidates | $260 | $255 |
An optional $100 expedite fee is available if you need faster processing. These are examination fees only; for a fuller picture of what getting certified costs across the whole cycle, see our CHN certification cost breakdown.
Testing format and deadlines
Computer-based testing runs through a linked SMT/IQT network, and paper examinations are available under approved onsite proctoring. Do not assume CBT means you can test from home; at-home delivery is not a verified route. Authorization and application deadlines apply, so you cannot simply show up on a convenient day. Accommodations are available for candidates who need them. Check current windows and cutoffs in our CHN exam dates guide and confirm directly with BONENT before you plan your timeline.
Keeping the Credential Active
Earning the credential is the first step; keeping it is ongoing. A CHN certification is valid for four years. To renew through the standard route, you complete 40 contact hours, including at least 30 nephrology hours. Alternatively, you can renew by passing a qualifying examination, and a once-in-a-lifetime waiver route also exists.
Maintenance fees are $65 annually or $240 prepaid for the full four years. Prepaying works out to $60 per year, so it is slightly cheaper than paying year by year if you are confident you will maintain the credential for the full cycle.
Where CHNs Work and What They Do
Certified Hemodialysis Nurses are employed wherever hemodialysis is delivered. That typically means outpatient dialysis centers, which are the most common setting for chronic maintenance treatments, as well as hospital-based dialysis units that serve acute inpatients. Home dialysis programs also rely on nurses with dialysis expertise to train and support patients. Employers range from large dialysis organizations to independent clinics and hospital systems.
Day to day, a hemodialysis nurse conducts pre-treatment assessments, sets up and monitors the dialysis machine and circuit, cannulates or connects vascular access, administers prescribed medications, watches for complications such as hypotension or cramping, and educates patients about fluid and dietary management. Because many patients dialyze for years, nurses build long-term relationships and play a central role in patient adherence and outcomes. To see how the credential connects to openings and career paths, browse our page on CHN jobs.
Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
Rather than generic study advice, let the domain weights set your calendar. Here is one way to order a roughly six-week plan around the exam's structure. Adjust the length to your experience; for printable reinforcement, pair it with the CHN cheat sheet.
Domain 2: Dialysis and Related Issues
- Start here because it is 74.5% of the exam and the foundation for everything else
- Review treatment procedures, complications, access care, and ESRD physiology
- Practice dialysis calculations by hand, since calculators are not allowed
Domain 4: Environmental Control
- Cover infection prevention and water treatment concepts
- Connect these systems back to patient safety scenarios from Domain 2
Domains 1 and 3: Management and Professional Development
- Review delegation, supervision, and unit responsibilities
- Cover scope of practice and professional obligations briefly
Timed practice and gap repair
- Take full-length practice sets under a 3-hour limit
- Return to weak spots, prioritizing Domain 2 misses
When you reach the timed-practice stage, use the CHN practice exam to simulate the pacing of 150 questions in 3 hours and identify which domains still need work.
Key Takeaway
Because the scored/unscored split and exact raw-to-scaled conversion are undisclosed, treat every question as if it counts and judge readiness by consistent, strong performance on practice sets rather than by chasing an estimated cutoff.
Frequently Asked Questions
CHN stands for Certified Hemodialysis Nurse. It is a specialty credential administered by the Board of Nephrology Examiners Nursing & Technology (BONENT) for nurses who provide hemodialysis care to patients with end-stage renal disease.
No. The passing standard is a scaled score of 70 on a 1-100 scale, which is not a verified 70% raw score. BONENT does not publish how raw performance converts to the scaled score, so aim for strong mastery rather than a minimum percentage.
The exam has 150 multiple-choice questions and a 3-hour time limit. It is closed book, and personal calculators and reference devices are not permitted under the linked handbook.
Dialysis and Related Issues, at 74.5% of the exam. The other three domains are Supervision/Management at 10%, Environmental Control at 10%, and Professional Development at 5.5%.
It is valid for four years. Standard renewal requires 40 contact hours, including at least 30 nephrology hours, or a qualifying examination or once-in-a-lifetime waiver route. Maintenance costs $65 annually or $240 prepaid for four years.